Beauty Adventures in Peru

You can find beauty where ever you look in life and make a discovery in the most unexpected places. When we share with each other it connects us. When we go to a new place and open our eyes we learn from each other.

Katy, 23, London, Assistant Publicist

Meet Katy, 23, London, Assistant publicist. She shares for us, a glimpse into her life and beauty.

Katy's beauty staple Benetint - perfect for nights out!


What product can you not live without?
Benetint by Benefit– this has been my beauty staple for about 5 years now, it lasts ages and is so handy on nights out when you don’t want to stuff your bag with makeup! It’s perfect if you like the natural look and want to add a bit of colour to your lips and cheeks….I love it!

Katy in Peru doing the famous Inca Trail

What has been your most recent adventure?
A two-week trip to Peru to volunteer, do the Inca Trail and gallivant around with a backpack.

What have you learnt about Beauty whilst travelling in Peru?
Sun care is so important. Living in England you don’t have to worry about this too much (sadly) but going somewhere with high altitude you burn instantly. I love a tan but bright red, peely skin is not a good look. I noticed that the women in Peru often look decades older than they actually are because they’ve been in the sun constantly without protection all their lives and have really paid the price. Now in the pharmacies they stock only make up with a spf for young Peruvian girls who don’t want to look like their mothers! I am definitely going to be more vigilant with sun care, even a good moisturiser with a spf can make a difference.

Keep your skin safe with Clarins Hydraquench lotion spf 15

What do you do for your skin care?
I’ve started to worry that my years of sun worshipping will eventually take their toll so in an effort to not end up looking like a leather bag I moisturise twice daily with Clarins Hydraquench Lotion Spf15 and make sure I cleanse and tone in the evening. I don’t exfoliate enough but try to do it every once in a while, especially with summer approaching.

Any thrifty beauty tips?
One of my good friends introduced me to this amazing warming mineral face mask from the Body Shop. I use it every once in a while if I’m going out or it’s a special occasion and it makes your skin look flawless. It has a really noticeable effect and at £9 is a bit of a bargain! Also drinking lots of water makes a big difference– I make sure I drink 2 litres a day.

Body Shop Warming Mask for flawless skin


What would you want to know more about?
Sometimes, if I’m after a new product, I wish there was an easy way of knowing the best one to buy. I’m a sucker for advertising but it’d be great to know what really worked and what’s worth the money.

About Share Thy Secret

Beauty is for everyone. We are all involved with beauty every day in some way or another. But we do not all do the same things, because we are unique. And when we interact with each other we learn something new. My mission is to learn something new from you. It is exciting really. We want to know what someone else does to look and feel beautiful. It gives us ideas and inspiration for our own lives. Maybe, without realising it, you could provide that inspiration. So let's share our secrets and feel more beautiful together! Sharing is caring: Who are you? Where are you from? And what is your Beauty tip or product to share? Tell me in the contact form below and I'll share it for the world to know!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beauty Adventures in Peru

  1. Lady D says:

    Thanks for sharing! Good tips!
    I can’t imagine how beautiful Peru is. Would love to go some day!

  2. Lady D says:

    I nominated you for the versatile blogger award! Love what you do! Keep up the great work! 🙂
    http://ladydmakeup.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/versatile-blogger-award/

  3. SharonH. says:

    A trip to Peru sounds like great medicine. What organization were you with? I have been active outdoors all my life being a California girl and am fair and blond. Also my winters are in the mountains skiing as much as possible. I am very aggressive on my skis and like there is no better spot to be then headed down a challenging double black diamond for me. People think I am younger than I am, because I hecka work out! and I use Mineral Zinc Oxide Makeup- Layer it your face and the sun doesn’t have a chance. Look for any zinc oxide with high SPF and that is a heavy foundation- it is the only thing that works guaranteed. We don’t need to look like we came off the prairie.

  4. Share Thy Secret says:

    Mineral Zinc Oxide make up sounds amazing! What’s the brand of the product! My friend went out to volunteer with an orphanage which I think is brilliant and yes good medicine 🙂

Leave a Reply

