Sharing is Caring: The Wonders of Exfoliation

Nikki, 30

Today marks the first post of a Beauty Sharer. Sharing is the act of giving something to someone else or imparting a knowledge for another’s benefit. When we hear what someone else has to say we learn something new. To learn from each other connects us. So let us join together and share our beauty secrets. The following woman has braved the first go!

NIKKI: 30, SOUTH AFRICAN BORN, ARTIST, DESIGNER & MOTHER OF TWO.

Who is your beauty hero?

Despite all of my convictions I really admire Joan Collins. She’s so glamorous and looks after herself. She wears a lot of make-up, which I don’t, but I like that she makes the effort not to blend in, she’s not part of the beige brigade! On the other hand I admire my friend Hannah who is the Queen of all things natural and makes all her own soaps and beauty products. Very admirable, and I get to try them out!

What is your favourite beauty product?

It would have to be my Clarins Cleansing Milk. I love it because it is an effecitve cleanser for my combination skin type (both oily and dry skin). I use it at the end of the day to remove make up and dirt but it can also be used as a face wash in the morning. For me the best quality is it’s lightness as some produucts can be too heavy and leave a thick residue.

clarins-cleansing milk for combination-skin

What makes you happiest in the world?

A nice relaxed weekend with my husband and my children, where I don’t have to do anything else but put my wellies on and go for a long, muddy walk in the forest.

What is your hair care routine?

I live by the sea which means my hair suffers weather damage from wind, salt in the air and swimming in the sea. I don’t do anything too special but in the summer I use a hair mask once a week and the best one I have ever used is L’oreal Elvive Nutri-Gloss Masque. I also use V05 Hot oil for a deep conditon, it works beautifully to make my hair soft and shiny

What Beauty products would you want to learn more about?

I am always looking for a product that will moisturise but also has anti-blemish qualities as I’m easily prone to spots that are hormonally triggered.

Nikki showing her exfoliator brush

What is your Secret Beauty Share?

I found this wooden foot brush from Wilkinsons (a local drugstore) for 99p but when I got home the bristles weren’t stiff enough for nail scrubbing. So I began to use it as a body brush to exfoliate my legs before I shave. To apply: I squirt a bit of shower gel (Soap & Glory’s Clean On Me) onto the body brush (that was a foot brush!) and then I move the bush in a circular motion up my legs. This improves my circulation and exfoliates, getting rid of ingrown hairs. I would particularly recommend it because I’ve bought body brushes before and they were too strong and stiff- it felt like it was tearing at my skin rather than improving its quality. I have found it to be much better than any body scrub I have used before and would definitely recommend my accidental find!

And lastly…..

Shopping  day or spa day?

Spa day!

Chocolate or coffee?

Both! Can’t have one without the other.

Dog or Cat?

Neither – I clean up enough mess!

Product Summary for Nikki: Clarins Cleansing Milk (£17), L’oreal Elvive Nutri-Gloss Masque (around £5), V05 Hot oil Deep Nourishing (£4.25) and Foot Brush from Wilkinsons (99p).

Sharing is caring: Who are you? Where are you from? And what is your Beauty tip or product to share? Tell me in the contact form below and I’ll share it for the world to know!

About Share Thy Secret

Beauty is for everyone. We are all involved with beauty every day in some way or another. But we do not all do the same things, because we are unique. And when we interact with each other we learn something new. My mission is to learn something new from you. It is exciting really. We want to know what someone else does to look and feel beautiful. It gives us ideas and inspiration for our own lives. Maybe, without realising it, you could provide that inspiration. So let's share our secrets and feel more beautiful together! Sharing is caring: Who are you? Where are you from? And what is your Beauty tip or product to share? Tell me in the contact form below and I'll share it for the world to know!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

