Get Hair as Luscious as Liv Tyler’s With These Natural Steps

Liv Tyler showing off her luscious locks for Pantene

I was intrigued by Liv Tyler’s latest advert campaign for Pantene Pro V shampoo.

Enter soft speaking, impossibly shiny haired Liv Tyler:

Liv: “I tried so many hair care products but my hair just didn’t look healthy enough” [Oo I know the feeling Liv]

Voice over: Now there’s a mystery hair care brand that promises a solution so what is it? [I have no idea? Tell me before I burst with curiosity]

Voiceover: It’s all new Pantene, now reinvented [Well I’ll be damned. And reinvented? You shouldn’t have]

Liv: “First i didn’t believe it (fiercely swishing hair action) but then I tried it. It gave me healthy looking hair that lasted week after week. Finally my hair is healthy looking. My choice is always pantene”. [Not convinced that it is exactly your choice. Have a sneaking suspicion it’s the million dollar endorsement deal doing the talking here]

Voiceover: All new pantene

Liv: “you try, you decide”

Actually as it happens I’ve been using Pantene (granted not the “reinvented” one) for the last couple of months now. I’m not sure it has given me healthier looking hair for “weeks and weeks”. I would go as far as to say that my hair is still in the same predicament i.e. a dry, knotty mess. And if I’m not born to a supermodel mother and rockstar father, what can I do?

Here are a few ways to enhance your current hair routine:

Oils – as ever oils play a natural and vital role in beauty, helping to thicken and soften our hair. This is not instant results stuff so you’ll need to stick at it to see a difference.
Coconut oil can be heated up (about 10 seconds in the microwave, not to boiling point!) and then massaged into your scalp. Applying this two or three times a week stimulates follicle growth resulting in thicker feeling hair.
Almond oil heat up 3/4’s of a cup in the microwave for ten seconds. Apply to your hair and then wrap your hair in clingfilm. After 15 minutes rinse out and wash as normal. This adds shine and strengthens your hair strands; over time reducing split ends.
Jojoba oil – add a few drops into your current conditioner and this not only helps with softening your hair but also, is effective against dandruff.

Coconut Oil for gorgeous shiny hair!

Eggs – This is not for the faint hearted! If you enjoy and have the time for baking then this natural hair mask might be the tip for you.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Eggs
  • 5 Tablespoons of Olive oil
  • 1 Teaspoon of vinegar

Preparation: Whisk this all together until it forms a thicker like appearance. It shouldn’t instantly drop off the spoon when stirring.

Lather the formula all over your hair (similar to when applying hair dye), pop on a shower cap and leave in for 20-30 minutes. Rinse with room temperature water (Not HOT – you do not want scrambled egg hair!). Then shampoo and condition as normal.

Doing a deep cleanse like this, every couple of weeks, can naturally enhance dull and damaged hair. I’ll be giving it a go, when I can spare 2 eggs.

Vitamins – vegetarians often take pills that replace a lack of protein in their diet which coincidentally does wonderful things for your hair and nails! You could go for a dependable Seven Seas Multivitamins & Minerals for Vegetarians at £6.38 (60 tablets). You could also try  Vegetarian Glucosamine Hydrochloride by Higher Nature at £4.20 for 30 tablets. This vitamin benefits just about everything from: joints, skin, eyes, nails, hair you name it.

And lastly, a 50’s style vintage trick – protect your hair from weather damage wearing a headscarf and be as uber glam as Audrey Hepburn. Just add fifties shades to pull off the whole look!

Audrey Hepburn looking stunning in a headscarf

Sharing is caring: Who are you? Where are you from? And what is your Beauty tip or product to share? Tell me in the contact form below and I’ll share it for the world to know!

About Share Thy Secret

Beauty is for everyone. We are all involved with beauty every day in some way or another. But we do not all do the same things, because we are unique. And when we interact with each other we learn something new. My mission is to learn something new from you. It is exciting really. We want to know what someone else does to look and feel beautiful. It gives us ideas and inspiration for our own lives. Maybe, without realising it, you could provide that inspiration. So let's share our secrets and feel more beautiful together! Sharing is caring: Who are you? Where are you from? And what is your Beauty tip or product to share? Tell me in the contact form below and I'll share it for the world to know!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

