Why one of Marilyn Monroe’s Beauty Tips can Help You Sleep at Night

It has been one of those days again where no matter how much primer I apply my face continues to look dull and tired. I know what the problem is. I am not sleeping properly. There is nothing better for your health and face than to sleep eight or more good hours a night (which means 10pm-7am, not 2am-11am!). Sleep is highly beneficial for our skin cells to do some repair work and most importantly, for our brains to be in control. The stress caused by our tiredness does little good for the health of our skin.

The ability to get a healthy amount of sleep shouldn’t pose too difficult – as much as I day dream, I am not a rock star/model/any old celebrity being invited to endless famous parties, surviving on Champagne till the early hours of the morning. It is the event of actually falling asleep that proves the hardest part. My mind is buzzing from the TV, my laptop, catch up TV on my laptop and every single app on my iPhone. I cannot for the life of me switch off at night and as I’m not one for popping pills, here are a few ideas on natural approaches:

Marilyn Monroe makes lavender Oil Glamorous

Lavender Oil is the oil of choice for Marilyn in ‘My Week With Marilyn’. Not only a good scene in the film, (when she coyly suggests it is all she sleeps in), but it does actually relieve stress, fatigue, anxiety and insomnia. Known for its calming effects when inhaled, it can help you to unwind after a stressful day. For a therapeutic sleep at night, simply add a few drops of Lavender Oil to a handkerchief and place under your pillow case.

Eucalyptus Oil to help you sleep at night.

Eucalyptus Oil works to ease you into a peaceful sleep due to its cleansing qualities. Native to Australia and Tasmania, Eucalyptus is popular for its ability to clear your nasal pathways and make breathing easier. If it is a cold or lung problems that are keeping you awake at night then this could be a real godsend. As above, add a few drops to a handkerchief and place inside your pillow case

I know I’ll be lathering myself and my pillow in Lavender Oil and feeling as glamorous as Marilyn in the process. Happy Sleeping!

Sharing is caring: Who are you? Where are you from? And what is your Beauty tip or product to share? Tell me in the contact form below and I’ll share it for the world to know!

 

About Share Thy Secret

Beauty is for everyone. We are all involved with beauty every day in some way or another. But we do not all do the same things, because we are unique. And when we interact with each other we learn something new. My mission is to learn something new from you. It is exciting really. We want to know what someone else does to look and feel beautiful. It gives us ideas and inspiration for our own lives. Maybe, without realising it, you could provide that inspiration. So let's share our secrets and feel more beautiful together! Sharing is caring: Who are you? Where are you from? And what is your Beauty tip or product to share? Tell me in the contact form below and I'll share it for the world to know!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Why one of Marilyn Monroe’s Beauty Tips can Help You Sleep at Night

  1. Lady D says:

    Good tip! I use a lavender and chamomile bubble bath from bath and body work’s aromatherapy collection. It’s amazing! I got so many people hooked om it.

Leave a comment